The Smoke

Lead Guitar: Brett Tauri
Rhythm Guitar: Roly Nixon
Vocals: Ray Nixon
Bass Guitar: Len Monk - Lauri Opai
Drums: Lester Dempster
Piano: Peter Sandford



 "The Smoke" 1967 - 1969, This Band achieved great notoriety in a short space of time, with the release of single "No More Now" written by Brett Tauri - RCA 1967 - released in Europe and USA, had good chart success in New-Zealand.

No More Now

The Smoke" had a second release early 1968 "Control Your Love" written by Brett Tauri - RCA label.

Control Your Love

"The Smoke"  first gig was the battle of the bands at Aucklands town hall, the group went on to tour NZ several times, The Smoke featured at "The Big Blast off 68" at the Auckland YMCA with Larrys Rebels.

Later in 1968 "The Smoke" appeared on C`Mon (NZs one and only top of the pop TV shows of the time). The Smoke" did a final tour with Larrys Rebels early 1969 then disbanded.

Sadly Lester Dempster "The Smoke`s" drummer passed away June 5th 2009